Reviews for Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) | BigOven

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

Follow this recipe closely and you'll be in for an absolute treat. Serve over basmati rice and you're all set for a stunningly delicious dish.

(4.5, 48) 94% would make again

2135 people marked it a Favorite, 1467 people marked it a Try Soon

Yield: 4 Ready in 45 minutes

Cuisine: Indian   Main Ingredient: Chicken

Add My Review
I do this recipe x3 when I make it (generally one flat of chicken). To that quantity, it's 5 stars IF: You add another whole stick of margarine, 3 chopped garlic cloves, plus salt & black pepper to taste. I only used 1 pint (=2 cups) of half & half w/o any yogurt; and the chicken is cooked in 2 batches with about a teaspoon of garam masala in each batch. AMAZING results!
Suekrash , 7 months ago
The best ever! Better than my favorite Indian restaurant. There was a party of 8 and we all brought a dish. This one everyone went for seconds and thirds. Good eats! Will make again.
Kelliepannepacker , 1 years ago
This was less rich and intense than I was expecting. The ingredient list calls for tomato purée not sauce, but the recipe says sauce. Maybe sauce would help. I also think the rice matters and I made mine too watery, so that could be part of the problem.
Heatherina , 1 years ago
All I can say is OMG!!!! This stuff is the bomb! My husband adores Indian food, so I made this for his BD - he thought he had died and gone to heaven - for a fraction of the cost!! I made some sauteed swiss chard w/onions & garlic to go with and found some Naan bread in the freezer section of the store that cooks up in less than 5 mins. Oh yeah!!
tep4jc , 1 years ago
It was ok. A little too tomatoey and not enough spice flavor. I will try again but with less tomato and more garam masala and cayenne and garlic. The consistency was good.
MammaRaz , 1 years ago
Excellent! I used 1/4 c tomato paste (just because I had some to use up) and used milk rather than half-and-half to cut down on some of the fat and it was just great. Very nice flavors and the aroma--such a tease!
Jankrische , 1 years ago
Amazing. Served it with coconut rice and loved it!
joeshaw , 1 years ago
joeshaw , 1 years ago
First time out it was ok. We went off the rails a bit as we didn't get "tomato Puree" figured it must have been tomato paste. Wrong! that made it way to strong a tomato flavour. Some mik added to the dish seemed to help reduce the taste. It was fast to make. Easy to prepare and our family gave it a thumbs up! We will work on the tomato puree thing. Any help here is welcome. Thanks for posting.
ZapperUN , 1 years ago
1 cup of tomato purée or tomato sauce? it says purée in ingredients but sauce in preparation
LewisD10 , 1 years ago
This is a great base recipe. My fianc? likes a sweeter butter chicken, but other than that, he raved. Thanks for sharing!
mizunakat , 2 years ago
There was something missing from it & not enough oomph!
Cheekygirl1984 , 2 years ago
Good combination of ingredients, proportions
TRR11 , 2 years ago
First had buttered chicken in New Zealand. Loved it. This is the best recipe I have come up with so far here in the states.
jimshim , 2 years ago
Good recipe. I added peanut butter in as well when frying chicken to add peanut flavour and soothing smell to the dish. :) Thanms for sharing
Komaln24 , 2 years ago
Very good. I could not find 'ginger garlic paste' so I made my own using a 50/50 ratio; do not know if that is correct but it seemed to work good for us. The butter chicken was simple to make and flavorful.
Skeeter77 , 2 years ago
leonardkanthenga , 2 years ago
English equivalent would be single cream !
EHayco , 2 years ago
Half and half is 1/2 whole milk and 1/2 cream. It is sold prepackaged in the U.S. Hope this helps!
Nella72001 , 2 years ago
Can someone please explain what half and half is? Am in the uk so maybe it's lost in translation. Thanks
Lango , 2 years ago
Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free