Teresa's Awesome Lasagna

A fantastic recipe for a timeless classic from Emeril Lagasse of FoodTV

(4.9, 29) 91% would make again

1754 people marked it a Favorite, 423 people marked it a Try Soon

Yield: 8 Servings Ready in 45 minutes

Cuisine: Italian   Main Ingredient: Meat

Add My Review
This is what I have always thought lasagna should taste like.
imdequeen , 5 months ago
Gotta try this soon
imdequeen , 6 months ago
The best lasagne I ever ate.
jwranch , 1 years ago
Our new lasagna recipe!! Thank you for sharing!
Tbarthod , 2 years ago
i made this for my family and they loved it!! i will definitely use more meat next time so it has more texture but a definite success!!
nattycav , 2 years ago
Great lasagna and very flavorful!
mpenton , 2 years ago
I don't normally review recipes, but this was so good I couldn't stop myself. I'm a bit of a lasagna lover. It's my favorite food. And this recipe is #1 on my list of all time best lasagna. Warning: It tastes so good it hurts, and it makes enough to feed an army and have leftovers.
Serversage , 2 years ago
[I made edits to this recipe.]
jwranch , 3 years ago
As a beginner cook, I found the process of making this lasagna challenging from beginning to end. First I had to get over the shock of how much the ingredients cost: $70.00 Cdn. Then I severely over salted the sauce because the instructions say to ‘season with salt’ a total of four times. My guests were practically tripping over each other to refill drinks to soothe their puckered mouths. The hardest part by far was the layering of the lasagna. No matter how I looked at it, there was no way I could see how dividing everything into quarters was going to work…and it didn’t. I stressed about it for an hour before I actually began layering, and then ended up with extra cheese and noodles, and not enough sauce. I’m not saying it’s a bad recipe, it’s just out of my league. Kudos to everyone who made it to perfection though…I aspire to be that good a cook someday :)
Buddercup , 4 years ago
Hands down the best lasagna I've ever tasted!!! Very gourmet, restaurant quality. I make a mean lasagna that my family is crazy over, but this recipe blows it away! Please don't be dissuaded by the time it takes to prepare...it takes no more effort than usual if you are accustomed to making your own sauce, and it can easily be portioned into 13x9 Pyrex dishes for two generous-sized meals. Many ways to modify this to your liking, all excellent. Like others, I used a beef/pork/veal and sausage mix. I doubled the meat and used crushed tomatoes for a heartier sauce. Also cut back on the onions (used 1 cup) and garlic (1 Tbs). Clean-up is easier if you don't add cheese to the sauce (it sticks to the pot). I would give this six stars if I could. An outstanding recipe, thanks for sharing!
sHellsKitchen , 4 years ago
Hands down the best lasagna I've ever tasted!!! Very gourmet, restaurant quality. I make a mean lasagna that my family is crazy over, but this recipe blows it away! Please don't be dissuaded by the time it takes to prepare...it takes no more effort than usual if you are accustomed to making your own sauce, and it can easily be portioned into 13x9 Pyrex dishes for two generous-sized meals. Many ways to modify this to your liking, all excellent. Like others, I used a beef/pork/veal and sausage mix. I doubled the meat and used crushed tomatoes for a heartier sauce. Also cut back on the onions (used 1 cup) and garlic (1 Tbs). Clean-up is easier if you don't add cheese to the sauce (it sticks to the pot). I would give the six stars if I could. An outstanding recipe, thanks for sharing!
sHellsKitchen , 4 years ago
[I made edits to this recipe.]
jwranch , 4 years ago
This is a fine lasagna recipe! Thanks for sharing it. It is good and cheesy and the other parents at our Girl Scout's award ceremony loved it. I was a little timid with the dry lasagna noodles and probably spaced them too far apart for fear they would overlap as they soaked up liquid and expanded. For that reason mine was a little soupy and could have used the substance more noodles would offer. The noodles were cooked just right following the recipe exactly. If I tweaked this recipe at all, I'd increase to two eggs and 2 small tomato paste cans instead of one. The fancy parm/reggiano was a very nice touch.
signalmessiah , 4 years ago
thanks very much for this wonderful recipe it's just so great!!!!!! I will definitely make it again and very often too. I love it sooooooooooooo much. I cooked the meat sauce for a less time though. So you really don't have to cook it for 2 hours, once it is cooked that's all, thanks again so much.
nastysnake , 4 years ago
Suace on the bottom? Sure you do! I always put a layer of meat sauce on the bottom... :)
dixichiq , 5 years ago
wait, do you really put the meat sauce down first? without a layer of noodles first?
windycitymustard , 5 years ago
Honestly, this did take a long time to make. I made the meat sauce the night before and I did not add the carrots or celery. I loved the cheeses and the Parm/reggiano is an expensive cheese $20.00 a pound but definitely worth it. My boyfriend told me this was the best lasagne he's ever had, and it made me so happy that yes I will make it again. I used hamburger meat and pork sausage. A very tasty meal.
migallen , 5 years ago
This was my first time making lasagne. It tasted great. I used hamburger, sausage, and pork for the meat section,it turned out great. The cheese section was the best for sure!
chilli72 , 5 years ago
I just finished making this Lasagna Today. I have to say it is a Favorite of mine. My Wife says it is the BEST Lasagna she ever had!!!!. My Tweeks: I didn't use canned tomatoes, I went with fresh tomatoes, that I blanched and peeled, I reduced the amount of the Parm Cheese and added a little Romano Cheese. And I added some Italian sausage as well..Why.. Cause I love Meat!!!. These tweeks were not necessary..as the Sauce was Great as is!!!! A varation to the meat I do: is that I also add ground veal. I tend to use equal portions of Beef, Veal, Pork, and Italian Sausage. Manga Robert
Diselfitter , 5 years ago
very good got excellent compliments on it
jjk112561 , 6 years ago
Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free