Reviews for Italian Beef | BigOven
Italian Beef
Italian Beef Sandwich
photo by jordanbigoven Give a medal for this photo

Italian Beef

The closest to Beef Villa's Italian beef I have found.

(4.8, 31) 88% would make again

717 people marked it a Favorite, 326 people marked it a Try Soon

Yield: 8 Servings Ready in 2 hours

Cuisine: American - Chicago   Main Ingredient: Beef

Add My Review
I too am a Chicagoland transplant and this was outstanding. Thanks.
JMcMan , 1 years ago
Made this with venison and truned out awesome!
sprtfan34 , 1 years ago
Really enjoyed Recipe. Will do this again for the family. Thanks.
Offstars , 2 years ago
Fantastic recipe! I used the slow cooker on low and it was the best. Thank u for sharing.
brenmc , 3 years ago
Very good, will use again. I just use deli meat though. Awesome!
Lagata68 , 3 years ago
This was incredible! Best I've had, outside of the real thing. Tip: I froze in portions for two sandwiches and it was incredibly tough on the reheat. Won't try that again.
foxspit , 3 years ago
Very very good recipe!!!! Thank you very much!!!!!
Sinfulsaint07 , 3 years ago
Wow, this was an Amazing recipe. My family and I were very happy.
Loganetti , 3 years ago
Wow, this was an Amazing recipe. My family and I were very happy.
Loganetti , 3 years ago
Excellent flavor! Will make again.
Timlisa , 3 years ago
This was easy to make and soooo delicious! My husband and the boys absolutely loved it!
VikkiRay , 4 years ago
Fantastic !!!! Not nearly as hard as it sounds, ONLY thing I done differently was covered during the last part and put it back in the oven instead of messing up another pan.
Bcummings , 4 years ago
Fantastic!!! The only thing I did different was covered the pan for the final simmering. Got to KEEP the juice.
Bcummings , 4 years ago
I am from Chicago and am currently living in San Diego. This is one of the best Italian Beefs I have ever had! I would definetly make this again. My husband loved it. It was a little taste from home :)
USMCwife715 , 4 years ago
I am going to give this a try soon.
jkirk , 4 years ago
Very good! Hubby really enjoyed it. I put some chunky onions, carrots and celery on the bottom of the pan to give the au jus a little more flavor and I used beef broth instead of water and bullion cubes.
fran3828 , 4 years ago
Very good
NNFNNF , 4 years ago
This is great!! I reminds me of a place in St. Paul when I was a kid. I cooked it in a slow cooker for 9 hours, then sliced it and cooked it for 2 more hours. Since I couldn't get any onion powder, I just chopped up an onion and chucked it in. Medal-worthy!!
thetitan99 , 4 years ago
Where is the Provolone?.....Ok you can shoot me It's not a steak&cheese :). Looks very tasty and would like to try.
HagarHun , 4 years ago
We made this yesterday and LOVED it! We moved to North Carolina 8 years ago from Chicago. You can't find and Italian Beef here to save your life! This was great! It tastes very similar to the beef in Chicago. We covered the pot when we were simmering and didn't simmer nearly as long as the recipe said. We simmered the sauce first with the bay leaves & fennel seeds with the lid on so that the gravy did not evaporate. Then we put the beef in the sauce and cooked until all the pink was gone. Mmmm Mmmmm Good.
schemdog , 4 years ago
Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free