Reviews for Hummus | BigOven

Hummus

In Arabic, "hummus" means simply chickpea. The dish is more properly called hummus bi tahina ("chickpea and sesame")

(4.4, 26) 85% would make again

1239 people marked it a Favorite, 883 people marked it a Try

Yield: 20 Ready in 10 minutes

Cuisine: Greek   Main Ingredient: Garbanzo Beans

Reviews

Add My Review
Made this tonight with chicken Lula kabobs. Wonderful!
arbpen , 9 months ago
I'll never buy hummus from the store again.
usernameisunavailable , 1 years ago
Great taste, easy to make. Tastes great with pita chips and veggies!!
Valerie411 , 1 years ago
Simple and wholesome . Will definitely makeagain
alaknanda , 1 years ago
H_Love1988 , 1 years ago
lisazazzarino , 2 years ago
mihaimaca , 2 years ago
Easy to eat with anything. Delicious! I made it for a relative party and everybody loved it!
Jenflier , 2 years ago
I don't usually like hummus, but LOVE this recipe. The mint is such a delicious addition. I eliminate the cumin and throw in lots of lemon, garlic, mint, and parsley. Would be great with kalamata olives, too.
Evejoybrown , 2 years ago
I am so excited 2try this recipe...thank u.
tassiedo4me , 2 years ago
kaelywhittington , 2 years ago
This was excellent. Could have used a bit more olive oil to make it a bit creamier. The mint was a nice touch.
MikeS85004 , 2 years ago
if I don't have the tahini, what else I could use and in what quantities according to recipe.
lrosado09 , 2 years ago
Great base recipe! I used 8 cloves of garlic and used peanut butter instead of tahini (I don't like the flavor), then added about a tablespoon of sesame oil. I also added a little onion powder, cracked black pepper, and extra cumin. Inplan on adding chipotle peppers in the future for an added kick.
Jojoshoes , 3 years ago
Nice and easy to make, but I think there is something wrong with the amount of garlic in recipe, perhaps it should have been 2 teaspoons or 2 cloves. My 2 Tablespoons was a whole bulb of garlic. There was a real strong taste that did not seem right, so I had to double the recipe to fix, obviously without the garlic this time. Then it tasted quite nice.
darrent , 3 years ago
Please also indicate garlic amount in average size cloves. Also would be good to indicate how much net chickpea (drained to take).
Iuliacarpov , 3 years ago
Yummy! Great recipe. I wasn't sure if I should drain the chickpeas. I decided to drain them. Turned out great.
Bridgetm317 , 3 years ago
Thankyou Cyrano - this is a fantastic and simple recipe. My only recommendation is if you are making it for a party make twice as much as you think you'll need - because if your like my wife and me you'll be eating it straight before your guests arrive and they will absolutely love it.
lagonexus , 3 years ago
Best hummus recipe I have made! Super Yummy :)
MischiefsMom , 3 years ago
Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free