The Best Beef Stroganoff

I have followed dozens of recipes for this dish and have combined the things I like from some and left out some stuff from others to perfect this dish.

(4.4, 146) 88% would make again

8213 people marked it a Favorite, 5789 people marked it a Try

Yield: 4 Servings Ready in 2 hours

Cuisine: Russian   Main Ingredient: Beef

Reviews

Add My Review
mgillis710 , 2 weeks ago

I made this for my husband (I'm a vegetarian) and he LOVED it! Easy to make, husband loved it, I will likely make this again :)
genny867 , 3 months ago

absolutely delicious!! will definitely make it again!!
Torz94 , 4 months ago

Delicious recipe! A few of the reviewers complained about the fact that it is fairly bland, and I found the same thing-ive learned from another stroganoff recipe that the solution to this is red wine and ketchup. I know it sounds weird but try small amounts and work your way up, according to your own tastes. It will give the sauce more body and depth. Yum!
nicstagrim , 6 months ago

Good recipe. Didn't add nutmeg. But still came out yummy
jbedahjr1 , 8 months ago

I didn't realize I was almost out of sour cream, but this tastes amazing with only a couple spoonfuls! I don't think I'm gonna share tonight. I did add more of the season salt and nutmeg. I learned a long time ago to season to our taste. First time ever making stroganoff and I believe it's going to be a hit and on our menu rotation! Thank you.
larkandmet , 9 months ago

none better any where
Lionstar , 11 months ago

really good but make sure not to cut the beef too small, and I'd add more bacon because there wasn't enough grease to fry all the meat in. I'd actually transfer the grease to another pan too if you like your bacon crispy like me. The little chunks left over made it a wee bit grainy, but still really good!
MonsterZero , 11 months ago

Double the garlic and bacon
VagabondWolf , 12 months ago

We really enjoyed this dish. I omitted the bacon and mushrooms. I used ground turkey and beef stock. I also substituted half the sour cream with greek yogurt. And used whole grain egg noodles. Very quick, easy and tasty dish.
mogriff1 , 1 years ago

Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free