Classic Coconut Cake with White Mountain Coconut Icing

My husband found this recipe in the Dallas Morning News and insisted that I make it - he did help by "throwing" the coconut on the top and sides of the cake! It was well worth the effort. The article named it "The glamour queen of confections".

(4.4, 27) 76% would make again

1715 people marked it a Favorite, 843 people marked it a Try Soon

Yield: 10 Ready in 1 hour

Cuisine: American   Main Ingredient: Coconut

Add My Review
Love this cake
cococordell , 7 months ago
Not very sweet for a cake.
spellchick84 , 11 months ago
Didn't turn out right!!! Cake fell apart..and the sugar syrup seized up on me...tried doing the icing with egg whites and sugar tht came.out ok but the whole cake its self was a mess.
dawatha , 1 years ago
Fairly easy and absolutely wonderfull! My family and guest loved this old-fashioned, from scratch, comfort cake.
drouchea , 1 years ago
I have made it twice using exactly same ingredians you used , first time it comes really salty and the second time didnt put salf and it comes less salty but still salty. I do believe you should mension that the butter should not be salted butter
Dragon22 , 1 years ago
Linda..the icing on top is like an italian meringue frosting in that u pour the sugar syrup once ur done cooking it because the heat of the syrup will cook the eggs. But pour it in slowly and gently that way you dont scramble the eggs. :) i think ill make this for my uncle looks, he specifically asked for coconut cake and this is getting great reviews! Cant wait
hanaaali , 1 years ago
Can anyone clarify if the sugar water needs to cool before adding to the egg whites? Like someone else, i am rating it 5 Stars based on looks & other reviews until I make this for myself - once I clarify how to make the Icing. Thank you kindly.
Lindalovespink , 2 years ago
Most excellent! A delicious cake that was more than worth the time and trouble. Thanks Beachbumette!
AnnMarieWhenham , 2 years ago
Beautifull cake.easy to make.i used cream unstead of icing,as i dont like icing. I added coconut to tje cream.turned out great. Would make it again.
christia3 , 2 years ago
Good and easy to prepare
Donnawhilby , 2 years ago
This cake was outstanding! It is perfect just as is and will be using this recipe for ages to come...
foolishbaker , 2 years ago
Truly rich and delectable cake! This is one of the best coconut cakes I've ever tried. It is super moist.
Aprilagonz , 3 years ago
Truly rich and delectable cake! This is one of the best coconut cakes I've ever tried. It is super moist.
Aprilagonz , 3 years ago
Very good moist cake! I suggest to double the frosting recipe. I used a mix of freshly grated coconut and pre-packed sweetened coconut. Everyone liked it!
amandakrylo , 3 years ago
This cake was easy to bake, outstanding taste and picture perfect on the table when my daughter came home from college I added a lemon butter cream filling and the white mountain frosting on the outside Excellent, Thanks for sharing it.
frmee2u , 3 years ago
I made this cake for a friend's birthday and it was gobbled up in no time. People were in awe at the sheer beauty of it. Orders have already been placed for future events. It tastes as good as it looks!
rugby_ball , 3 years ago
We made this cake for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful. The cake was moist, had great texture and wonderful flavor. I really liked the coconut icing. It was a nice (and delicious) change of pace from our usual buttercream or cream cheese frostings.
EttaBakes , 3 years ago
I'm not much into baking but this cake was relatively easy! I had to make 2 batches of the icing because I wasn't sure if I made it right the first time - the reipe doesn't say if the syrup needs to be cooled before you add it to the egg mixture and my first batch was a little runny - the second one wasn't much thicker - I'm still not sure about when to add the syrup. THe cake was delish!
nelli2009 , 3 years ago
Wonderful cake! It was moist, buttery and had lots of great coconut taste.
chefhoward76 , 3 years ago
i really enjoyed this cake!! i was skeptical because one of the comments said it was difficult to make but i found it quite easy and very descriptive instructions! Took me some time because i waited for my layers to cool completely but that was just my preference. i will definitely make this again, most likely for some kind of function because the cake is so beautiful and extravagant.
gbrixx , 3 years ago
Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free