Classic Coconut Cake with White Mountain Coconut Icing

My husband found this recipe in the Dallas Morning News and insisted that I make it - he did help by "throwing" the coconut on the top and sides of the cake! It was well worth the effort. The article named it "The glamour queen of confections".

(4.4, 27) 76% would make again

1730 people marked it a Favorite, 863 people marked it a Try

Yield: 10 Ready in 1 hour

Cuisine: American   Main Ingredient: Coconut

Reviews

Add My Review
Love this cake
cococordell , 1 years ago

Not very sweet for a cake.
spellchick84 , 1 years ago

Didn't turn out right!!! Cake fell apart..and the sugar syrup seized up on me...tried doing the icing with egg whites and sugar tht came.out ok but the whole cake its self was a mess.
dawatha , 2 years ago

Fairly easy and absolutely wonderfull! My family and guest loved this old-fashioned, from scratch, comfort cake.
drouchea , 2 years ago

I have made it twice using exactly same ingredians you used , first time it comes really salty and the second time didnt put salf and it comes less salty but still salty. I do believe you should mension that the butter should not be salted butter
Dragon22 , 2 years ago

Linda..the icing on top is like an italian meringue frosting in that u pour the sugar syrup once ur done cooking it because the heat of the syrup will cook the eggs. But pour it in slowly and gently that way you dont scramble the eggs. :) i think ill make this for my uncle looks, he specifically asked for coconut cake and this is getting great reviews! Cant wait
hanaaali , 2 years ago

Can anyone clarify if the sugar water needs to cool before adding to the egg whites? Like someone else, i am rating it 5 Stars based on looks & other reviews until I make this for myself - once I clarify how to make the Icing. Thank you kindly.
Lindalovespink , 2 years ago

Most excellent! A delicious cake that was more than worth the time and trouble. Thanks Beachbumette!
AnnMarieWhenham , 2 years ago

Beautifull cake.easy to make.i used cream unstead of icing,as i dont like icing. I added coconut to tje cream.turned out great. Would make it again.
christia3 , 3 years ago

Good and easy to prepare
Donnawhilby , 3 years ago

Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free