Reviews for Gambas al Ajillo - Garlic Shrimp | BigOven

Gambas al Ajillo - Garlic Shrimp

One of my favorite Spanish dishes, Gambas al Ajillo (garlic prawns) is a very quick and easy to prepare shrimp recipe that's made on the stove top. This luscious and satisfying dish consists of shrimp that are sauteed quickly in olive oil that has been laced with lots of garlic and some red chiles. It is usually offered as an appetizer or served as a "tapas" in many restaurants, but we sometimes like to accompany it with rice or pasta along with a green salad and make a full meal of it. You'll also want to have plenty of crusty bread on hand to capture the delicious pan juices from these garlicky crustaceans. Buen provecho!

(4.5, 48) 87% would make again

4751 people marked it a Favorite, 3232 people marked it a Try Soon

Yield: 6 Servings Ready in 45 minutes

Cuisine: Spanish   Main Ingredient: Shrimp

Add My Review
OMG it was amazing! I doubled, added scallops, served over angel hair pasta that was already seasoned with garlic salt and olive oil. We LOVED it! Definitely making it again.
saramasters , 6 months ago
Quick, easy, and very yummy! Will make again!
Guamerica , 6 months ago
Great
1103willy , 11 months ago
Loved the dish and will gladly make it again! Loved the garlic with a little bit of heat.. Yumm!!
littleduck , 11 months ago
awesome recipe.. only thing i changed was i added powdered dry shrimp instead of bay leaves and that kicked up the taste several notches higher..
dayaniramachandran , 1 years ago
eugeniabodnar , 1 years ago
Deelish!
zelynamontalvo , 1 years ago
We loved this. The perfect amount of garlic!
tabby69 , 1 years ago
These were amazing!
jaysp68 , 1 years ago
Cooked it as a main and served it with Angel Hair Pasta. Delicious.
Heatherferg , 1 years ago
babygirlnugent , 1 years ago
I cooked this last night for my Spanish friend. He and I both agreed it was absolutely gorgeous. (I had no fresh chillies so sprinkled on chilli powder and it worked a treat) We had it with some penne pasta, spelt bread (great for mopping up gorgeous oily sauce!) and side dish of tomatoes with balsamic, pine nuts, and oregano. Yum! 5 stars! (and I don't usually like garlicky food!)
nikitimpson , 1 years ago
Mike0129 , 1 years ago
noelle0320 , 1 years ago
I didn't have the chili so I used ground cayenne pepper. But I felt it needed a tad more heat..so I added a few dashes of tobasco. But I loved it! Thanks for adding the recipe!
Hnengland , 1 years ago
Yum! I don't do shrimp so I substituted imitation crab, doubled and served over angel hair pasta. So good! Everyone in the family loved it!
pols005 , 1 years ago
coreyschrieber , 1 years ago
Wow!! this is an AMAZING dish! Very simple to make and OMG the flavor...the flavor is just out of this world good! This will be a go to recipe for entertaining>
Trissa , 1 years ago
jmol15 , 1 years ago
Now, this is A-MA-ZING!! I wasn't sure about so much garlic, but oh! You just feel the savour of it. I skip the spicy ingredient, and replaced with Recado Powder for a nice look. At the end I add 2 TBS butter and let it melt on shrimps. Was amazing! Served with white rice and plantain. This is already in my favourite! Thank you so so much!!!
olivera1975 , 1 years ago
Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free