Grandma's Chili

This is my maternal grandmother's recipe for chili. It's not hot, but very flavorful and extremely easy to make!

(4.8, 86) 94% would make again

4105 people marked it a Favorite, 2598 people marked it a Try

Yield: 4 Ready in 45 minutes

Cuisine: American-South   Main Ingredient: Ground Beef

Reviews

Add My Review
Awesome recipe!! I've been on the hint for a good chili and I've found it!! My kids and husband love it!!
KissableCupcake , 1 months ago
Very good recipe! Tweaked it a bit - I like adding Rotel tomatoes - actually added in addition to what was in the recipe. No Cayenne or Paprika, adjusted the chili powder. Family loved it. Thanks!
Lifeimproves , 2 months ago
I
308wirenut , 8 months ago
Awesome base recipe!
bml2217 , 8 months ago
Turned out pretty good! My 2 & 3 year old really loved it... They kept saying "it tastes good mommy" as they ate it
mrsepiphany , 9 months ago
Easy to make. Everyone liked it.
dixiedistler , 10 months ago
Another great batch of chili my friend!! Thank you for sharing such a tasty receipt!!!
MississippiMule , 11 months ago
My husband and I really enjoyed it. I followed the recipe exactly except for the diced tomatoes. I used the rotel diced tomatoes as someone else suggested in the reviews and it was really good. It actually tasted the best on day three when we took it to work for lunch. I will definetly make this recipe again. Oh also i did not include the cayenne because I added the rotel tomatoes.
adina1029 , 11 months ago
Awesome chili! I made it today and its really tasteful the cayenne added a bit to much heat for my hubby so i added sugar to balance it out.. camw out wonderful!!
jacksss , 11 months ago
Everyone love this chili. I have none left!!
CakeK08 , 11 months ago
I have made this my go-to chili and I always get rave reviews. I sometimes use bison but mostly grass-fed beef and with either it is absolutely delicious! Thank you!
Jpmck1224 , 11 months ago
Delicious and easy, best chili yet! Browning the veggies with the meat added a depth of flavor. Used a bag of frozen chopped onions and peppers. Cooked in crock pot on low for 6 hr. Will make again.
Lynn1775 , 12 months ago
Delicious! Even my 5yr old who is a picky eater asked for seconds..will definitely be making this again
tbachus , 1 years ago
It is easy to make in the slow cooker, just cook on low for four hours. I also use hot peppers in place of chili powder and add 2 cans of beans to 1.5 lbs of lean ground meat. I also use about a half teaspoon of paprika instead of the cayenne pepper.
LauraR1964 , 1 years ago
Loved this! Followed recipe exactly with the exception of leaving out the bell pepper, as my husband doesn't like them. Thanks for sharing this!
recipe4us , 1 years ago
I love this its so easy and everyone loves it. I freeze the left over and have it with jacket potatoe which is lush
naomigibbon , 1 years ago
Needs Rotel tomatoes they are very hot so skip cyenne.FYI
Tiamo66 , 1 years ago
Great tasting recipe! Substituted ground turkey and added corn with the beans. Served it with green chile corn bread! Great meal!
Valerie411 , 1 years ago
Woohoo! Great chili! Thank you for posting. I used ground chicken and omitted the cayenne so that it wouldn't be too spicy for the kids (but would be really awesome for my hubbie and me). My two year old twins seemed pretty excited to eat it. :) Will definitely make again. Big hit.
Kendra_InTheKitchen , 1 years ago
Very good chili. Easy and quick to make. The only thing I may change next time is to increase the tomato sauce and eliminate the diced tomatoes as I don't like tomato chunks in chili - just a personal preference.
BobbyP , 1 years ago
Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free