Crockpot Beef Short Ribs

This is a delicious Short Rib recipe, with the beef turning meltingly tender...and accompanied by a rich and savory sauce made from the beef drippings. The ribs, a combination of lean meat and fat, are cut from the end of a standing rib roast, and this is what makes them so tasty. This easy crockpot recipe makes an excellent "stick-to-your-ribs" meal, especially for cold weather.

(4.3, 32) 84% would make again

2543 people marked it a Favorite, 1641 people marked it a Try

Yield: 6 Servings Ready in 10 hours

Cuisine: American   Main Ingredient: Beef Short Ribs

Reviews

Add My Review
cindypriest , 2 years ago
LisaAngelina, you may have missed the notes at the end of the recipe but if you refrigerate the sauce after cooking, the excess fat will solidify and can be easily scraped off the top.
sgrishka , 2 years ago
Any good hints on how to skim the fat? It was difficult to do. So we found it way too greasy.
LisaAngelina , 2 years ago
roz6844 , 2 years ago
Really good. I used tomato sauce. Meat fell off the bones. Yummy but needs some zing. Added some spices and more garlic.
Geekosis , 2 years ago
I really like this one. I used the chuck roast and it was a crowd pleaser or sure. Next time I think I'll punch up the gravy just a bit. A little more chili powder and mustard. Maybe a bit more worchestershire.
Fergiej , 2 years ago
Had this tonight & my husband & I loved it. I like that it was easy to make. Like everyone else I used the tomato sauce instead of the Ketchup. Will have again & again
HONYDO , 3 years ago
Very Good
tootesfidget , 3 years ago
I made loved it, as well as my daughter. I did find the ketchup a little sweet and may try the below suggestions and use tomato sauce instead of ketchup. It was easy and delicious. The meat was tender and juicy! I will make it again!
gretcha1 , 3 years ago
Awesome recipe! My husband is usually the cook around here but he loved this dish!! Meat just fell apart! I made it exactly like it called for too :)
Ktobolsky , 3 years ago
This tastes like a fast food hamburger with all the ketchup. This is not how short ribs should be made.
Hokieman32 , 3 years ago
This was amazingly good! I used tom sauce instead of ketchup and red wine instead of the vinegar. It's a substantial, delicious meal.
Jamie2888 , 3 years ago
Husband loved them.. Thank you for another delicious recipe
skittlesbite , 3 years ago
It came out delicious. My 7 year old granddaughter who hates stewed beef, ate it with "gusto" and asked for seconds and thirds. I read the reviews, and substituted tomato sauce for the ketchup. The meal was absolutely amazing! Thank you,
josamda , 3 years ago
This is the first time I have used my NEW handy dandy Slow Cooker. My 7 yr old granddaughter who HATES beef said " wow, my fork likes this meat, it is so soft" we all loved this recipe. I read some reviews and cut the Catsup by 1/2 and used 1/2 BBQ SAUCE. My husband said it was right on in sum it was a big hit ad I will most definitely make it again
josamda , 3 years ago
I changed it a little bit. I braised the ribs in tallow and lard, saved the drippings and fat to help with the incredible gravy and left out the ketchup. I think I got the percentage of calories from fat somewhere into the 55-65% range. Fantastic neo-paleo recipe with heart healthy fats from whole foods and all carbs from tubers! This is now my go-to recipe for short ribs.
rossifer , 3 years ago
this recipe was great!!! i changed the ketchup to tomato sauce and added more garlic but the ribs fall right off the bone!
lphigh2008 , 3 years ago
This was very good. Everyone was right about it being a little sweet. The ribs tasted great but the carrots and potatoes were sweet.
ChrisPlunkett , 4 years ago
I modified this recipe just a bit to suit my taste - tomato sauce instead of ketchup, and red wine instead of red wine vinegar. Plus, I more than tripled the amount of garlic powder. It turned out yummy!! Thanks for this easy and awesome recipe!
bluemarcelle , 4 years ago
This was good, but could be enhanced a bit. Next time I will cut back on the ketchup. I agree with an earlier review that BBQ could be worked in. It is great to have the complete meal ready at once. Will try again
SHarvey30 , 4 years ago
Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free