Reviews for Fiesta Chicken Casserole | BigOven
Fiesta Chicken Casserole
Fiesta Chicken Casserole!
photo by KaitCav Give a medal for this photo

Fiesta Chicken Casserole

This crowd-pleasing, kicked-up casserole uses pantry ingredients and refrigerator staples topped with a refrigerated pie crust and baked until the filling is bubbling and the crust is golden.

(4.2, 31) 93% would make again

1565 people marked it a Favorite, 1477 people marked it a Try

Yield: 8 Ready in 55 minutes

Cuisine: Mexican   Main Ingredient: Chicken

Reviews

Add My Review
Whole family loved it. Drained the corn, used tortilla chips on top instead of the pie crust and let it sit 15 minutes are baking and put it over white rice. Was so good and easy to throw together for a week night meal I will be putting this in our rotation of meals.
mandyquinones , 5 months ago
This is very good..add some hot sauce to a bowl of this!!
Trish37 , 6 months ago
Awesome!
noelynn1 , 9 months ago
Used tortillas instead of the puff pastry and fresh chicken breast. Very good, nice flavor from the salsa. I have also substituted ground turkey for the meat and that was great too. An easy recipe to make your own.
Jbluedog274 , 1 years ago
This recipe would be much better if tortilla chips were used in place of the pie crust
TCreager , 1 years ago
It was a great idea and very easy, but the overall flavor was such a mix of sour cream and beans, it lacked individual favors.
sarahworthman , 1 years ago
Very easy, and definitely a great add to the rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Kicia731 , 1 years ago
Used Crescent rolls in place of pie crust. Drained corn and beans and was great. Make two, one without the pie crust top and freeze it. Later remove and defrost, add pie crust or Crescent rolls and cook until heated through and top is well browned. Saves time for a quick dinner.
Chefroach , 1 years ago
jilledenstrom , 2 years ago
It was good. I'd make it again with alterations for the soupy part. Less less less.
Allycat413fishie , 2 years ago
Very filling, good flavor, kids liked it. Some variations: added 26 oz can of cream of chicken soup and omitted the sour cream. Added only 1/2 cup of salsa and added an additional can of black beans which may have eliminated the soupyness other
CarolinaClover , 2 years ago
I happened to have leftover Rice a Roni Mexican rice in the fridge so I threw that in too. I also used crushed tortilla chips on top. It was really good and definitely a kid favorite. Adding it to the rotation.
laureld , 2 years ago
My family really liked this. I did modify it due to other reviews that I read. I used leftover chicken from drumsticks. I added 1 taco seasoning packet and 1 finely chopped chipotle pepper in adobe sauce (I buy 1 large can and freeze them in singles) to add some flavor and tiny bit of heat to the mix. I used crushed tortilla chips on top instead of pie crust. I did drain the corn and beans. It was not soupy, but like very thick dip. We used chips to dip and eat or wrapped it up in a tortilla. I will use this for dinner and for chip dip when going to parties. Thank you for the recipe.
Arvan43 , 2 years ago
This was really tasty but it is missing something, maybe heat. Next time I am going to add some chili's. I did make it with a pie crust and it came out great. I would suggest letting it rest before cutting it....about 20 minutes or so. The only thing I did differently was the chicken, I used a rotisserie chicken (small one). Yes I would make this again :)
Leenie2001 , 2 years ago
Very tasty. substituted pie crust with Tortilla chips
Jab618 , 2 years ago
Made this for our small group and it was a hit! We went with crushed tortilla chips on top instead of the pie crust. After reading the comments about it being "soupy" we drained the corn and beans and it came out great. Will definitely be making this again.
cornhusker_scouter , 2 years ago
I was looking for something different to do with the pack of chicken thighs I bought and came across this recipe, so I thought I'd try it. I made a few modifications. While boiling the chicken thighs I added a package of McCormicks Taco Seasoning to the boiling water. This added to the Latin flavor of the chicken. While that was boiling I tore about 10 corn tortillas into random pieces and lightly fried then in a little canola oil and let them drain on a paper towel. After mixing all the ingredients in a bowl I placed the fired tortilla chips on top of the mixture and baked on a convection setting at 375 degrees for 30 min. This was delicious. My wife ate 3 bowls!!! Will definitely make this one again!
Segerguy , 3 years ago
tasted great!
ChaseD20 , 3 years ago
Very good, really easy, and my kids like it. Can do no meat by using 1 bag of the pre-diced "chk'n" pieces.
k27stodden , 3 years ago
I made this tonight and LOVED it! O decided the next time I make it I can use it as a dip for tortilla chips, or instead of using the pie crust use crushed tortilla chips (the crust was hard to remove) I may reduce the liquids in half and add a bit mor chicken so it is not ad runny, bbut still loved it!
Ewoods1 , 3 years ago
Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free