Mexican Cornbread Casserole

Mexican casserole dinner that is easy to make, and reheats well.

(4.5, 124) 91% would make again

4746 people marked it a Favorite, 4035 people marked it a Try

Yield: 6 Ready in 1 hour

Cuisine: Mexican   Main Ingredient: cornbread mix

Reviews

Add My Review
Easy and great.
Dukedev06 , 1 months ago
marie0717 , 3 months ago
I enjoyed this recipe- I added diced pickled jalapeños, chili powder, and some pepper jack cheese and it added heat to it. I used only 1 box of corn bread mix and thought it was fine. Very good recipe and I will add to my favorites.
vlcasey , 3 months ago
Very good and easy to make. Added pinto beans to the filling and gave a great extra taste.
Valerie411 , 3 months ago
This recipe was not as good as it could've been. I used Quaker corn meal (in the cardboard tube) and the recipe on the back. I made two batches under the assumption the recipe was the same as 'one box'. I should've only made ONE batch and split it in half. Overall - it was 'too much' cornbread and I found myself wishing there was more meat & cheese. Nothing against the recipe in general. It would be nice to have the exact 'corn bread' recipe used be included here.
sliebl , 1 years ago
Delicious and very easy to make! No need to make any changes and I didn't have any issues with sogginess
thom1229 , 1 years ago
Very good. I added black beans & didn't use cream corn. Little dry. Use salsa next time. .
Lisadenise42 , 1 years ago
Yummy
kirstahenderson , 1 years ago
Really delicious. I've never made anything like this before so I was a little hesitant but t was a success. I added black beans and used the listed amounts of creamed corn and regular corn. It was toooo good. There goes my diet!
ifeyu , 1 years ago
Followed other reviews by negating creamed corn, adding yellow onions, jalapeno peppers, black beans and only 1 box of corn bread mix. I baked half of the cornbread mixture for 5 mins to avoid ?sogginess? as well. All in all, it turned out PERFECT! Thank goodness for reviews! The family and I ate it along with a side of fresh spinach & tomato salad with house Italian dressing. Yummm!!! I would definitely make this again.
analea_g_81 , 1 years ago
Tried this for the first time the other night, and my kids loved it. I used 2 boxes of Jiffy, and instead of adding the milk per the Jiffy cornbread instructions, I added the can of cream corn as the moisture in the mix. the bottom "crust" set up nicely for me, and wasn't mushy as some reviewers have stated. The only thing I might change next time... I might add some black beans, or refried beans and maybe some salsa... the recipe is great as is, but could use a little tweaking.
lisamarr-turner , 1 years ago
kstrass86 , 1 years ago
So good and great the next day. Kids, 3&1, love it. I only use 1 box, top layer of cornbread and add black beans to the ground turkey filling.
hannahclockhart , 1 years ago
Was great!!! I listened to all the reviews. Did one box cornbread, plenty. Added rotel, black beans, and only did regular corn. My family loved it, including my four yr old and two yr old! Will do this again.
shortay4eva , 1 years ago
This was a hit in my house I added onions, black beans, green bell peppers, and the other half of whole car to the meat. And i didnt add the cream corn on top and it was super good well make it again soon! :-)
Chrishelle , 1 years ago
I only use one package of cornbread and pour it over the meat mixture. I also mix a can of black beans in with the ground turkey. My daughter can't have cheese so we leave it off and it's still delicious. Even my one yr old loves this meal!
hannahclockhart , 1 years ago
So easy and really great!
tep4jc , 1 years ago
Easy and delicious!
tinaschuver , 1 years ago
I would make this again but with a cornbread mix that did not have sugar in it.
Tabammy , 1 years ago
mikeyp_420 , 1 years ago
Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free