Basic Bread

Adapted from the King Arthur Flour website. Delicious and easy!

(4.3, 177) 75% would make again

6065 people marked it a Favorite, 1513665 people marked it a Try

Yield: 28 Servings Ready in 2 hours

Cuisine: American   Main Ingredient: Bread

Reviews

Add My Review
Easy recipe. Makes a really nice dense bread. Made it basic no add ons, but after reading some of the reviews, will add some butter and herbs. Anyone know how to keep the cornmeal from burning?
bigdavecooks , 4 days 22 hours ago
A simple way to make really good bread.
NickTheGladiator , 1 week ago
Pretty Nice!!!
TheYoungOne , 2 weeks ago
Best app for storing and sharing recipes, making grocery lists and planning menus.i use it every day!
swags9 , 1 months ago
get this out of my account. what is it doing in my collection, mocking me?
miris1 , 4 months ago
Just made my first ever bread, came out great!!! Thank you!
Maizy7 , 6 months ago
Not a bad recipe, because it needs very few ingredients and is quite simple to make. However, it was too dense, and a bit flavorless. I'm going to try another recipe, and hopefully it will be fluffier, or a little less dense. I think my grandma used butter or oil in the recipe for her delicious bread, unfortunately she has passed, and I never asked her to show me how she baked her rolls and bread. I have yet to have any bread or rolls that compare. She never used a recipe, she just whipped them up.
claudettem.keirstead , 6 months ago
Added by mistake. Not a major baker.
GHeffner , 8 months ago
Turned out great!
HollyAnneW , 11 months ago
johnchimezieken , 11 months ago
foodtogo , 11 months ago
RebeccaWhit , 11 months ago
rssvihla , 12 months ago
evelynbannon7 , 1 years ago
Turned out oretty good, first time was a littlemdense so I made into smaller loafs second time around and turned out great. Definitely a keeper
taiwoakinyemiologuntoye , 1 years ago
First time making bread. This was easy and delicious, only thing I did different is I put them in loaf pans for a nicer shape and added melted butter with garlic powder, tyme and salt and pepper the last 5 minutes of baking
elaineg1113 , 1 years ago
Good recipe thanks
Helmshore1 , 1 years ago
Came out sooo good! I added melted butter with garlic powder, salt, pepper, dried basil, and dried thyme the last five minutes. Def will make again!
KatsMeow5587 , 1 years ago
Great
mchakra , 1 years ago
Yum!
cnswann , 1 years ago
Add unlimited recipes. Organize in custom folders. Find recipes for your diet. Try BigOven Pro Free